HAVE YOU SEEN A HORIZON LATELY?

25 February – 19 July 2020

Taking its title from a song by Yoko Ono, the exhibition explores the politics of space and place and is an invitation to see and know the world differently. The exhibition features work from a selection of emerging and established international artists including Yoko Ono (USA), Kapwani Kiwanga (Canada-France), Rahima Gambo (Nigeria) and Amina Benbouchta (Morocco). Through a variety of media and with several new commissions, HAVE YOU SEEN A HORIZON LATELY? sees participating artists question their lived environment in a sensitive and committed way.

Whether inspired by architecture, urban archaeology and landscape or personal geographies in relationship to the body and history, the work of these contemporary artists resonates strongly with some of the most pressing issues in the world today. Questions around ecology, the unequal distribution of wealth and power, the colonisation of territories, situations of oppression, and fixed and reductive conceptions of identity are all themes explored in the exhibition.

Yoko Ono, HAVE YOU SEEN THE HORIZON LATELY?, 1967/2019.
Installation view of The Reflections Project organized by the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, New York
Photographer: Isabel Asha Penzlien.
Copyright Yoko Ono

The exhibition is curated by Marie-Ann Yemsi who works alongside scenographer Franck Houndegla. Conceived as a poetic journey where one theme leads through to another, the exhibition creates a network of interlinking positions and considerations, showing art’s unique ability to question our limits and challenge our perceptions.

Participating Artists

MAXWELL ALEXANDRE – FELIPE ARTURO – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – GAËLLE CHOISNE – RAHIMA GAMBO – AKIRA IKEZOE – KILUANJI KIA HENDA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – YOKO ONO – DANIEL OTERO TORRES – SANDRINE PELLETIER

HAVE YOU SEEN A HORIZON LATELY?

25 février – 19 juillet 2020

Commissariat :
Marie-Ann Yemsi
Scénographie :
Franck Houndégla

Cette exposition, dont le titre est tiré d’une chanson de Yoko Ono, explore la “Politique de l’espace/lieu”, une invitation à percevoir et appréhender le monde différemment. Elle présente une sélection d’œuvres d’artistes internationaux émergents et établis, dont Yoko Ono (Etats-Unis), Kapwani Kiwanga (Canada-France), Rahima Gambo (Nigéria) et Amina Benbouchta (Maroc). A travers une variété de médiums et de  nouvelles œuvres produites pour l’occasion, HAVE YOU SEEN A HORIZON LATELY? voit ces artistes remettre en question leur environnement de manière sensible et engagée.

Qu’ils soient inspirés par l’architecture, l’archéologie du paysage urbain ou les géographies personnelles en lien avec le corps et l’histoire, le travail de ces artistes contemporains entre en forte résonnance avec certaines des interrogations les plus urgentes qui agitent le monde actuel. Les questions autour de l’écologie, de la répartition inégale de la richesse et du pouvoir, de la colonisation des territoires, des situations d’oppressions ainsi que les conceptions figées et réductrices en matière d’identité sont autant de thèmes explorés dans l’exposition.

Yoko Ono, HAVE YOU SEEN THE HORIZON LATELY?, 1967/2019.
Vue de l’installation The Reflections Project organisée par le Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, New York
Photographe : Isabel Asha Penzlien.
Copyright Yoko Ono

L’exposition est commissariée par Marie-Ann Yemsi qui travaille aux côtés du scénographe Franck Houndegla. Conçue comme un voyage poétique au cours duquel un thème mène à un autre, cette proposition crée un réseau de positions et de considérations interdépendantes, montrant la capacité unique de l’art à remettre en question nos limites et nos perceptions.

Artistes exposés

MAXWELL ALEXANDRE – FARAH AL QASIMI – FELIPE ARTURO – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – GAËLLE CHOISNE – RAHIMA GAMBO – AKIRA IKEZOE – KILUANJI KIA HENDA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – YOKO ONO – DANIEL OTERO TORRES – SANDRINE PELLETIER

Partenaires