Art, a serious game

27 November 2021 – 14 February 2022

Curator:
Meryem Sebti – Diptyk Magazine

Art, a serious game is a group exhibition displayed from 27 November 2021 to 14 February 2022 and curated by Meryem Sebti, Editor-in-Dhief of Diptyk magazine.

Based primarily on the Fondation Alliances’ collection, it gathers more than 80 works by 64 contemporary artists, including Mariam Abouzid Souali, Joy Labinjo, Simohamed Fettaka and GaHee Park. Through a variety of media, emblematic works from the collection and new acquisitions, this exhibition explores the theme of play in art.

Cassi Namoda, Zambeziana remembers Tchaubo tongue, 2020
Oil and acrylic on cotton-poly, 101,6 x 76,2 cm
Fondation Alliances – MACAAL collection

Is the artist then this eternal child, reliving initiation to the world through toys? Certainly through the creation of an individual space of representation—within the limitations of a normative adult world—but also through experimentation with the arbitrary character of rules and codes that artists are free, always, to transgress. We might begin to define art itself by this scene of imagination, this fictional space in which we live out our first experience of the world. Indeed, since the advent of psychoanalytic theory, cognitive science has insisted upon the formative influence of play. Any object that a child might transform into a toy becomes, according to Freud, “something that he will make an image of”.

Whatever the case may be, le jeu bears witness to a confident and joyously carnival-like world.  Under its wave of subversion, we are confronted with a jubilant paradox: if the rules of the game are arbitrary, can they be played to the point of absurdity? Art, a serious game offers visitors a more relaxed and entertaining relationship with the world.

Participating Artists

SOUFIANE ABABRI – MARIAM ABOUZID SOUALI – MOHAMED AREJDAL – NADIA AYARI – MOHAMMED BAALA – YASSINE BALBZIOUI – JAMES BARTOLACCI – FARID BELKAHIA – FOUAD BELLAMINE – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – OTHMANE BENGEBARA – HICHAM BENOHOUD – MAHI BINEBINE – ZOULIKHA BOUABDELLAH – MERIEM BOUDERBALA – MAX MOULAY MANSOUR BOUFATHAL – FRÉDÉRIC BRULY BOUABRÉ – DORA DALILA CHEFFI – CHÉRI CHÉRIN – CALIXTE DAKPOGAN – IMANE DJAMIL – PETER DREHER – MOHAMED EL BAZ – SAFAA ERRUAS – MOUNIR FATMI – SIMOHAMMED FETTAKA – FATNA GBOURI – MALEK GNAOUI – HASSAN HAJJAJ – MOHAMED HAMIDI – FATIMA HASSAN AL FARROUJ – SAÂD HASSANI – ROMUALD HAZOUMÈ – CHOUROUK HRIECH – JOHNNY IZATT LOWRY – ANUAR KHALIFI – MAJIDA KHATTARI – ABDOULAYE KONATÉ – FAOUZI LAATIRIS – JOY LABINJO – GEORGE LILANGA – GONÇALO MABUNDA – ABU BAKARR MANSARAY – WALID MARFOUK – NAJIA MEHADJI – PAOLA MONZILLO – SHULA MOSENGO – MOHAMED NABILI – CASSI NAMODA – GRESHAM TAPIWA NYAUDE – ABDELKRIM OUAZZANI – GAHEE PARK – ABDALLAH SADOUK – GHIZLANE SAHLI – ABBES SALADI – CHÉRI SAMBA – ANA SEGOVIA – ILIAS SELFATI – LOUTFI SOUIDI – TESFAYE URGESSA – ABDERRAHIM YAMOU – MIKE YATES – MICHAELA YEARWOOD-DAN – BILLIE ZANGEWA

L’art, un jeu sérieux

27 novembre 2021 – 14 février 2022

Commissariat :
Meryem Sebti – Diptyk Magazine

L’art, un jeu sérieux est une exposition collective ouverte au public du 27 novembre 2021 au 14 février 2022 et commissariée par Meryem Sebti, rédactrice en chef du magazine Diptyk.

Conçue principalement à partir de la collection de la Fondation Alliances, elle rassemble plus de 80 oeuvres de 64 artistes contemporains parmi lesquels Mariam Abouzid Souali, Joy Labinjo, Simohamed Fettaka et GaHee Park. À travers une variété de médiums, d’oeuvres emblématiques de la collection et de nouvelles acquisitions, cette exposition explore la thématique du jeu dans l’art.

Cassi Namoda, Zambeziana remembers Tchaubo tongue, 2020
Huile et acrylique sur coton-poly, 101,6 x 76,2 cm
Collection Fondation Alliances – MACAAL

L’artiste ne serait-il pas cet enfant éternel qui s’initie au monde à travers le jeu ? Non seulement en créant son propre espace de représentation, borné cependant par celle toujours normative des adultes, mais en expérimentant le caractère arbitraire des règles et des codes qu’il est toujours loisible de transgresser. L’art pourrait au commencement se définir par cette scène imaginaire, cet espace fictif à travers lequel se vit la première expérience que nous avons du monde. Les sciences cognitives ont d’ailleurs depuis la naissance de la théorie psychanalytique insisté sur l’apport formateur de la pratique ludique. L’objet que l’enfant transforme en jouet devient selon Freud « quelque chose dont finalement il va faire une image ».

Quoiqu’il en soit, le jeu témoigne surtout d’un rapport au monde décomplexé et joyeusement carnavalesque. Dans toute la portée subversive qui peut être la sienne, il nous confronte à un paradoxe jubilatoire : si tout est règle du jeu arbitraire, tout n’est-il pas alors permis jusqu’à l’absurde ? L’art, un jeu sérieux propose aux visiteurs un rapport au monde plus détendu et divertissant.

Artistes exposés

SOUFIANE ABABRI – MARIAM ABOUZID SOUALI – MOHAMED AREJDAL – NADIA AYARI – MOHAMMED BAALA – YASSINE BALBZIOUI – JAMES BARTOLACCI – FARID BELKAHIA – FOUAD BELLAMINE – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – OTHMANE BENGEBARA – HICHAM BENOHOUD – MAHI BINEBINE – ZOULIKHA BOUABDELLAH – MERIEM BOUDERBALA – MAX MOULAY MANSOUR BOUFATHAL – FRÉDÉRIC BRULY BOUABRÉ – DORA DALILA CHEFFI – CHÉRI CHÉRIN – CALIXTE DAKPOGAN – IMANE DJAMIL – PETER DREHER – MOHAMED EL BAZ – SAFAA ERRUAS – MOUNIR FATMI – SIMOHAMMED FETTAKA – FATNA GBOURI – MALEK GNAOUI – HASSAN HAJJAJ – MOHAMED HAMIDI – FATIMA HASSAN AL FARROUJ – SAÂD HASSANI – ROMUALD HAZOUMÈ – CHOUROUK HRIECH – JOHNNY IZATT LOWRY – ANUAR KHALIFI – MAJIDA KHATTARI – ABDOULAYE KONATÉ – FAOUZI LAATIRIS – JOY LABINJO – GEORGE LILANGA – GONÇALO MABUNDA – ABU BAKARR MANSARAY – WALID MARFOUK – NAJIA MEHADJI – PAOLA MONZILLO – SHULA MOSENGO – MOHAMED NABILI – CASSI NAMODA – GRESHAM TAPIWA NYAUDE – ABDELKRIM OUAZZANI – GAHEE PARK – ABDALLAH SADOUK – GHIZLANE SAHLI – ABBES SALADI – CHÉRI SAMBA – ANA SEGOVIA – ILIAS SELFATI – LOUTFI SOUIDI – TESFAYE URGESSA – ABDERRAHIM YAMOU – MIKE YATES – MICHAELA YEARWOOD-DAN – BILLIE ZANGEWA