OUR LAND JUST LIKE A DREAM

24 September 2022 – 16 July 2023

Curator: Meriem Berrada
Scenography: Studio Joël Andrianomearisoa

For its very first monographic exhibition dedicated to a contemporary artist, MACAAL has invited Joël Andrianomearisoa to occupy all of the museum’s spaces in an exploration of Moroccan traditional knowledge. The artist engages dialogue with diverse artistic perspectives in a polyphonic and immersive scenography, punctuated by a selection of works from the Fondation Alliances collections.

The works produced for OUR LAND JUST LIKE A DREAM were created exclusively in Marrakech, making use of a variety of local artisanal techniques in sustained dialogue with those who practice them. After an exploratory residency, Joël Andrianomearisoa undertook production of original works in close coordination with experienced artisans. The resulting works are personal interpretations of Morocco’s artistic heritage as well as a tribute to hand craft. Sensitive to the materials that he encounters, the artist combines a variety of mediums with elegance and commitment. Wickerwork, metalwork, ceramics and embroidery collectively serve his poetic vision through textile installations, metallic sculptures or drawings on organic paper; all possibilities offered by the artist’s host territory.

This same quest for resonance led Joël Andrianomearisoa to engage in visual conversations with six artists, including Amina Agueznay (Morocco), Clotilde Courau (France), and Hindi Zahra (Morocco). As they explore goldsmithing, wood engraving, or sound, each of his accomplices – visual artist, actress, or musician – responds to the poetic perambulation of matter created by Joël Andrianomearisoa.

ABDERAHMAN ABOULOUANE – AMINA AGUEZNAY – ZINEB ANDRESS ARRAKI – BELDI COUNTRY CLUB – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – MILOUD BOUARFA – COOPÉRATIVE ARTISANALE ASSABIRATE – CLOTILDE COURAU – YASSINE EL HARADA – MOHAMED EL KHATER – ALEXANDRE GOURÇON – TIBARI KANTOUR – THE MOROCCANS – SOUFIANE TIGLYENE – AZZEDINE TOUFIKALLAH – HINDI ZAHRA

Exhibited artists – MACAAL Collection

SAID AFIFI – MOHAMED ANZAOUI – FARID BELKAHIA – MOHAMED BEN ALI RBATI – MERIEM BOUDERBALA – DANIEL CORREA MEJIA – HASSAN EL GLAOUI – MIRANDA FORRESTER – MOHAMED FQUIH REGRAGUI – HICHAM GARDAF – MOHAMED HAMRI – HANS HARTUNG – MOHAMED MELEHI – MOHAMED KACIMI – SANDRINE PELLETIER – JEAN-FRANÇOIS PORTAELS – ABDELKBIR RABI’ – FATIHA ZEMMOURI

Video

Partners

OUR LAND JUST LIKE A DREAM

24 septembre 2022 – 16 juillet 2023

Commissariat : Meriem Berrada
Scénographie : Studio Joël Andrianomearisoa

Pour sa première exposition monographique consacrée à un artiste contemporain, le MACAAL invite Joël Andrianomearisoa à explorer les savoir-faire traditionnels marocains en investissant l’ensemble des espaces du musée. Dans un parcours polyphonique et immersif, l’artiste engage des dialogues avec diverses approches artistiques rythmés par une sélection d’oeuvres des collections de la Fondation Alliances.

Conçues exclusivement à Marrakech, les œuvres produites pour OUR LAND JUST LIKE A DREAM s’appuient sur une diversité de techniques artisanales locales dans un dialogue permanent avec leurs détenteurs. Suite à une résidence exploratoire, Joël Andrianomearisoa concrétise des productions inédites avec la complicité d’artisans chevronnés. Il livre des interprétations personnelles du patrimoine plastique marocain en même temps qu’il rend hommage à l’ouvrage manuel. Sensible aux matières qu’il rencontre, l’artiste croise avec élégance et engagement une variété de médiums. Vannerie, dinanderie, céramique ou broderie se mettent au service de sa poétique pour incarner installations textiles, sculptures métalliques ou dessins sur papier organique comme autant de possibilités offertes par le nouveau territoire d’accueil de l’artiste.

C’est avec le même souhait de résonance que Joël Andrianomearisoa engage des conversations plastiques avec six artistes parmi lesquels Amina Agueznay (Maroc), Clotilde Courau (France) et Hindi Zahra (Maroc). Par l’orfèvrerie, la gravure sur bois ou le son, chacun de ces complices plasticiens, comédienne ou musicienne répond à la déambulation poétique de matière créée par Joël Andrianomearisoa.

ABDERAHMAN ABOULOUANE – AMINA AGUEZNAY – ZINEB ANDRESS ARRAKI – BELDI COUNTRY CLUB – AMINA BENBOUCHTA – MILOUD BOUARFA – COOPÉRATIVE ARTISANALE ASSABIRATE – CLOTILDE COURAU – YASSINE EL HARADA – MOHAMED EL KHATER – ALEXANDRE GOURÇON – TIBARI KANTOUR – THE MOROCCANS – SOUFIANE TIGLYENE – AZZEDINE TOUFIKALLAH – HINDI ZAHRA

Artistes exposés – Collection MACAAL

SAID AFIFI – MOHAMED ANZAOUI – FARID BELKAHIA – MOHAMED BEN ALI RBATI – MERIEM BOUDERBALA – DANIEL CORREA MEJIA – HASSAN EL GLAOUI – MIRANDA FORRESTER – MOHAMED FQUIH REGRAGUI – HICHAM GARDAF – MOHAMED HAMRI – HANS HARTUNG – MOHAMED MELEHI – MOHAMED KACIMI – SANDRINE PELLETIER – JEAN-FRANÇOIS PORTAELS – ABDELKBIR RABI’ – FATIHA ZEMMOURI

Vidéo

Partenaires