Encounter

Essaouira: From music to art, a city of multiple cultural influences

Conversation with Hindi Zahra, Daox, Othmane Bengebara & Martin Seigneur

Thursday 30 September 2021, 5pm (Morocco)

Language: French

In partnership with Afikra

As part of its exhibition Outsiders/Insiders? Artists of Essaouira from the Fondation Alliances and Fundación Yannick y Ben Jakober Collections, MACAAL is organising an online discussion that will bring together the architect and exhibition designer, Othmane Bengebara, the singer and author Hindi Zahra, the co-founder of the Moga festival DJ Daox, and the singer-songwriter Martin Seigneur. Entitled Essaouira: From Music to Art, City of Multiple Cultural Influences, the discussion will deal with the city of Essaouira as a creative ground that fascinated so many Moroccan and international artists.

Considered as an inexhaustible source of inspiration for Souiri painters and sculptors, Essaouira is also known for its history, its music and its international festivals. The talk aims to understand how this small harbour town from the Atlantic coast has managed to genrerate as much talents and cultural diversity even if it was not initially intended to.

The discussion will be held in French on the Afikra cultural platform and moderated by Meriem Berrada, Artistic Director at MACAAL.

About Hindi Zahra

Hindi Zahra is a pluridisciplinary artist, a French-Moroccan singer, but also a painter, author, actress and songwriter. For her, music is above all a family story, the story of a Berber born in Morocco. Her father was a soldier and her mother a housewife, an actress and singer known in the village. Then her musician uncles introduced her to traditional Gnaoua music, reggae and Bob Dylan’s folk music. She grew up listening to raï and châabi divas, like Rimitti, and Egyptian divas, like Oum Khalsoum, between traditional Berber music and rock’n’roll from the countryside, but also not far from the Malian blues of the great Ali Farka Touré and the sensual folk of Ismaël Lo.
With her bewitching voice and lyrics that resonate like an incantation, the enchanting Hindi Zahra has an inimitable musical cachet.

About Daox

Born in Casablanca, Abdeslam Alaoui, better known as Daox, began a career in music at an early age after being seduced by hip-hop classics and electronic music legends such as Aphex Twin, Amon Tobin, Model 500 and Ken Ishii among others. Since then, Daox has become one of the most promising dj/producers in the thriving North African underground scene with airy sets influenced by deep techno sounds. In 2016, Daox embarked on a new adventure by creating the Moga Festival in Essaouira, an electronic festival between Gnaoua heritage and modern touch.

About Othmane Bengebara

Othmane Bengebara is an architect and conceptual artist. He trained at the École Spéciale d’Architecture in Paris and at the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro. His work focuses on the square, a referential and repetitive element, as a basic unit for building space. Othmane Bengebara is also the scenographer of the exhibition Outsiders/Insiders? currently displayed at MACAAL. Conceived as a spatial, sonic, chromatic and, above all, mystical experience, the scenography is intended as a genuine invitation to trance.

About Martin Seigneur

Martin Seigneur is a French singer-songwriter. Although immersed in the folk culture of the 1960s and 70s with artists such as Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen, he remains attached to his native language and fashions a “French pop/rock” that is directly in line with Alain Bashung and Noir Désir. In 2016, he immersed himself in the world of Gnaoua music in Essaouira, where he met Reda Zniber and Khalil Mounji of Gnaoua Culture, with whom he began their project: the Lila album.

About Afikra

Afikra is a grassroots movement that has evolved into a global media and educational platform focused on the history, knowledge and understanding of the Arab world culture. Afikra’s particularity is to cultivate curiosity in the Arabic-speaking community, encouraging members to develop critical thinking skills and proactively challenge dominant narratives about the region’s history and culture.

Rencontre

Essaouira : De la musique à l’art, Cité aux influences culturelles multiples

Conversation avec Hindi Zahra, Daox, Othmane Bengebara et Martin Seigneur

Jeudi 30 septembre 2021, 17h (Maroc)

Langue : Français

En partenariat avec Afikra

Dans le cadre de son exposition Outsiders/Insiders? Artistes d’Essaouira des collections Fondation Alliances et Fundación Yannick y Ben Jakober, le MACAAL organise une discussion en ligne qui réunira l’architecte et scénographe de l’exposition Othmane Bengebara, la chanteuse et autrice Hindi Zahra, le co-fondateur du Moga festival DJ Daox, ainsi que l’auteur-compositeur et interprète Martin Seigneur. Intitulée Essaouira : De la musique à l’art, Cité aux influences culturelles multiples, la rencontre posera un regard particulier sur la ville d’Essaouira comme terreau créatif, cité muse qui passionne les artistes marocains et internationaux depuis toujours.
Intarissable source d’inspiration pour les peintres et sculpteurs souiris, Essaouira est aussi connue pour son histoire, sa musique et ses festivals internationaux. Il s’agira de comprendre comment cette petite ville portuaire située aux portes de l’Atlantique, et que rien ne prédisposait à un tel destin, a réussi à engendrer autant de talents et une telle diversité culturelle.
La rencontre sera modérée par Meriem Berrada, Directrice artistique du musée.
La rencontre se fera en français, en ligne avec la plateforme culturelle Afikra.

A propos de Hindi Zahra

Hindi Zahra est une artiste polymorphe, chanteuse franco-marocaine, mais également peintre, auteure, actrice et compositrice. Chez elle, la musique est avant tout une histoire de famille, l’histoire d’une Berbère née au Maroc. Un père militaire et une mère au foyer, comédienne et chanteuse reconnue au village, et puis des oncles musiciens l’initient à la musique traditionnelle gnaoua, au reggae et au folk de Bob Dylan. Elle grandit ainsi, à l’écoute des divas du raï et du châabi, façon Rimitti, et divas égyptiennes, telle Oum Khalsoum, entre musique traditionnelle berbère et rock’n’roll du bled, mais aussi non loin du blues malien du grand Ali Farka Touré et de la folk sensuelle d’Ismaël Lo.
Une voix envoûtante, des paroles qui résonnent telle une incantation, l’enchanteresse Hindi Zahra arbore un cachet musical inimitable.

A propos de Daox

Né à Casablanca, Abdeslam Alaoui, plus connu sous le nom de Daox a commencé une carrière dans la musique à un âge précoce après avoir été séduit par les classiques hip-hop et des légendes de la musique électroniques tels que Aphex Twin, Amon Tobin, Model 500 et Ken Ishii entre autres. Depuis, Daox fait partie des dj/producteurs les plus prometteurs de la florissante scène underground d’Afrique du Nord avec des sets aériens influencés par des sonorités deep techno. En 2016, Daox se lance dans une nouvelle aventure en créant le Moga Festival d’Essaouira, un festival électronique entre héritage gnaoua et touche moderne.

A propos d’Othmane Bengebara

Othmane Bengebara est un architecte et un artiste conceptuel. Il est formé à l’École Spéciale d’Architecture de Paris et à l’Université Pontificale Catholique de Rio de Janeiro. Son œuvre se polarise autour du carré, élément référant et répétitif, comme une unité de base pour construire de l’espace. Othmane Bengebara est également le scénographe de l’exposition Outsiders/Insiders? présentée actuellement au MACAAL. Pensée comme une expérience spatiale, sonore, chromatique et surtout mystique, la scénographie se veut comme une véritable invitation à la transe.

A propos de Martin Seigneur

Martin Seigneur est un auteur-compositeur-interprète français. Bien que baigné dans la culture folk des années 1960-70 avec des artistes tels que Bob Dylan ou Leonard Cohen, il n’en reste pas moins attaché à sa langue natale et façonne un « pop/rock français » qui s’inscrit directement dans la lignée d’Alain Bashung ou encore de Noir Désir. En 2016, il part en immersion à Essaouira dans l’univers de la musique Gnaoua, lui permettant de rencontrer par la suite Reda Zniber et Khalil Mounji de Gnaoua Culture avec lesquels il entame leur projet : l’album Lila.

A propos d’Afikra

Afikra est un mouvement populaire qui s’est transformé en une plateforme médiatique, éducative mondiale axée sur l’histoire, la connaissance et la compréhension de la culture du monde arabe. La particularité d’Afikra est de cultiver la curiosité dans la communauté arabophone, en encourageant les membres à développer un esprit critique et remettre en question de manière proactive les récits dominants sur l’histoire et la culture de la région.